Does my website need to be ADA compliant?

Our team recommends that you look into what the requirements are for your company regarding the American Disability Act. This list gives you a basic rundown of our thoughts:

  • First, from our understanding, government websites are legally required to meet the highest standard of ADA requirements. 
  • It is recommended that if you have a physical location that is required to meet ADA guidelines then your website should as well. 
  • Website Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) has three levels of compliance--A, AA, AAA. A is the minimum and AAA is the most extreme. AAA is very extreme and severely impacts the design and site performance and they are saying it isn't practical. 
  •  It seems like with the revised standards A, and AA are the norm. 

What are the Website Content Accessibility Guideline Compliance Levels? 

The WCAG 2.0 is organized into four key concepts:

  • Web content must be perceivable
  • Web content must be operable
  • Web content must be understandable
  • Web content must be robust

There are three levels of compliance--A, AA, and AAA. You can review those levels here.

It can be overwhelming 

We understand that this is overwhelming. Please reach out to our team with specific questions regarding your industry. If you wish to learn more, you can click here.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us